Manage User Roles

Manage User Roles

Hike has three predefined roles: Admin, Manager, and Cashier. Now, Hike allows you to create and manage custom roles (i.e., Assistant Manager, Super Admin, etc.), where the permission settings are entirely up to you. Whenever you change the permission settings for a role, they will be applied to users to whom the role has been assigned.

How to Add Custom Roles in Hike

To begin, select Users on the Hike menu and navigate to the Users screen and click on the Manage user roles located at the top right corner. 


To add new roles, simply click on the ADD NEW button on the slide-out window.  


You can now input the name of the new role you want (i.e. Assistant Manager). You will see a complete breakdown of Hike’s menu tree, available for you to select what the Role will have access to.


Click on the icon next to each section, to expand the list of options further.

Simply tick the selections you want the role to have access to, and untick the ones that you don’t, enabling you to specify exactly what the role can and can’t do.


Click Save once you have done and a new custom role is created!

How to Create A Custom Role with Existing Permission Settings

If you have set special permissions for a user under a particular role, and want to apply the same for other users, you could create a role with the current permission settings of a user.

Click on the highlighted button COPY PERMISSIONS & CREATE ROLE, and you will get the prompt to name the role.

After saving it, the new role is created, and it's assigned to the user. You can then assign the role to other users to apply the same permissions.

How to Edit and Delete Custom Roles in Hike

Whether you need to edit a role in Hike or even just Delete, Hike makes the process of it easy as well.

Select Users on the Hike menu and navigate to the Users screen and click on the Manage user roles located at the top right corner. 


A window will slide out and you can see that the custom roles created will be in blue. 

To edit, simply click on it, and from there you can edit the Role name and the permissions for the role. Please note, the change will be applied to all the users under this role.

To delete the role, simply scroll down to the bottom of the slide-out window and click on DELETE THIS ROLE.

This will open a new pop-up box asking you to confirm the deletion of the Role. Click YES to continue.


Note that deleting the role will unassign all the users that are assigned to that role. You will need to edit the users to assign a new role to them. To learn how to assign a new role for that user, please go to How to Edit & Delete Users in Hike.